Tile Coaster Tutorial

I can’t remember exactly where I found this idea – if someone knows where, let me know so I can credit them. This is another simple make that I’m doing to add to my present stash for birthdays, Christmas etc…

Decoupage Tile Coasters

Materials:

  • Decorative Paper
  • PVA/Mod Podge
  • Oil-based Varnish
  • Ceramic Tiles
  • Foam

The tiles I used were sample tiles from B&Q – £1 per tile, you can probably find cheaper elsewhere, just make sure it’s big enough to fit a mug on and the top surface is smooth and even.

Take your paper and roughly tear it to shape. I like the roughness of this. You could be precise if you wanted, or you could even be more experimental and layer your design; knock yourself out! Stick your paper down on the tile and lightly paint the top with a layer of glue.

Leave to dry, depending on your paper and tiles, you may need another coat of glue. Cut out the foam to size, making sure it’s not all the way up to the edge, it’s there to help protect tabletops from being scratched from the tile. Glue on once the tops are dry.

I then sealed the tiles with a coat or two of spray varnish. I used oil based varnish as it should prevent any rings being made by a wet cup.

Et voila! I plan on putting a nice ribbon round four of these tiles and giving them as gifts. I think they look a lot more expensive than it cost to make.

Leave a Reply

