Thirty minute make: covered notebooks


So pleased with the way these notebooks have turned out. I made them whilst my little boy had a nap, and it’s probably taken me longer to write this blogpost than it did to make them. These are being added to my crafty present stash which I always go to when birthdays or Christmas comes up. I make throughout the year so to help spread the cost (a lot of January birthdays in my family which stings the bank balance after Christmas!)

You’ll need:


Notebooks – these were A7 notebooks I picked up from Paperchase a while back. There are probably cheaper places to pick some up, so hunt around.


Glue. I am a Mod Podge convert. Have you heard the gospel of Mod Podge?


A selection of decorative paper & card. I had a pack in my craft stash, I also used some from a magazine called Mollie’s Makes (which my mum passed on to me).

To make up:


Spread a layer of glue on the front of the notebook.


Position your paper on the front. Be careful to not obstruct the top holes and make sure you position your design nicely on the front. Leave extra round the edges and smooth it on to the glued front.


To make the back of the front cover neat, cut some contrasting paper/card  slightly smaller than the front cover. Fold the extra edge of your covering paper over to the back, cut a triangle at the corners to get a neat corner fold. Glue down the edges and then glue the contrasting card down on top and hold in place gently till slightly set.


Wait to dry and voila! Bland notebooks turned into cute little stocking fillers!

Leave a Reply

